Located in the centre of the village, this 19th-century church is a Grade II-listed building. The building offers religious services and functions, as well as meeting and performance space. It is also home to a Jacobean oak pulpit and roosting pigeons. The church has an impressive collection of artworks and a rich history, which is worth exploring.
Grade II listed building
Broughton St Mary’s parish church is a Grade II listed building in the town of Broughton-in-Furness, Cumbria, England. The church dates back to at least the 12th century. Its earliest structure only had a chancel and nave; there were no bell towers. Evidence of the church’s early stonework can still be seen.
Several features of the Grade II listed building are intriguing. A surviving dovecote (a conical structure with a round base and conical top) dates from the seventeenth century. The church is also home to several very good grave slabs. Henry Grey is buried in the churchyard, while the benefactor board above the west door is early nineteenth century.
The parish church is one of only three Grade II listed buildings in the town. The Atkinson monument was installed in 1805. Four tombs from the 18th century are also located here. The ring of eight bells was increased to 10 in 1907. The church is an important religious site in the town.
Anglo Saxon stair turrets
The Anglo Saxon stair turrettes are a striking example of Anglo-Saxon architecture. The tower arch, which is still in place, was once an arch leading to the chancel. The arch is approximately ten feet tall. In addition, the building has a triangular-headed doorway, which may have been used to access a timber gallery on the western side.
The stair turrets were originally in the nave against the north wall of the tower arch, but were relocated outside the church in 1865. In 1990, the church was re-roofed and a new vestry was added. Inside, an old limestone cross and skeletons were found.
Jacobean oak pulpit
The Jacobean oak pulpit at Bringon St Mary’s Parish Church dates from the late 18th century. It is one of the few remaining examples of the type from this period. It is thought to have been made by the same craftsman who made the panelling in Chastleton House. Its style is based on a monument to the Greek poet Lysicrates. The church also has a nineteenth century organ.
In the mid-19th century, the church was being renovated and refurbished. The vicar, Rev Thomas Faulkner, sought to make everything as pristine as possible. He also gave special breakfasts to parishioners after Ascension Day Holy Communion. He would always come accompanied by his large dog.
Anglo Saxon roosting pigeons
Anglo Saxon roosting birds can be seen roosting at St Mary’s parish church in Clifton, Somerset. During the Saxon period, the church was used by Saxons as a place to worship. The church is located in a picturesque location on the river Severn.
The parish church was founded in 1861 by the Rev. R. W. Stow and is dedicated to St. Michael, a saint who weighs souls. He is also known as St. Christopher. The roosting pigeon’s nest is considered a sign of his veneration.
The church dates from 970 to 1050 AD and was originally a private church for thegns. It had a tower that served as the nave and a chancel in the east. Its walls were around 2 ft 10 ins thick, making it an impressive structure. It could have held around 70 people and contained an altar inside.
Located in broughton, Nottinghamshire, the Victorian church at broughton St Mary’s Parish Church is an iconic and historic 19th century building. The church provides religious services, as well as meeting and performance spaces. The building is open to the public. Located on the edge of the town, the church is ideal for a visit if you’re in the area.
Inside, the Victorian church is decorated with beautiful stained glass windows, including one from 1864. The Victorian church also features attractive panelling in the gallery, which is actually heavily embossed wallpaper from the early twentieth century. The pulpit is one of the few Victorian pulpits still in use today. It features a design that is based on a statue of the ancient Greek god Lysicrates. The church also boasts an organ, which was installed in 1882.